Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

6/23 – Book Club Movie Night June 19, 2006

Filed under: Picture of Dorian Gray — antof9 @ 4:55 pm

This is it! What we have been talking about doing for months.
Book Club Movie Night!

We will be meeting on Friday at 6:30 at my house. After making our own pizzas we will finish up Dorian Gray followed by the 1945 version of The Picture of Dorian Gray, which seems to be the most critically acclaimed adaptation of the book.

We do need some volunteers for pizza toppings, so if you could reply to all or post what you would like to bring that would be great. Plan for about 8 and if you don't know how many just ask! Also it's totally byoa (bring your own anchovies.) I will provide all the meat.

Pizza Bread – small Boboli pre-cooked pizza bread maybe 2 people could bring those to spread out the costs

Vegetables:
Tomatoes (canned or fresh)
Green Peppers
Onions
Mushrooms (canned or fresh)
Black Olives
Pineapples (canned)
Cheese:
Mozzarella
Ricotta
Parmesan
Any other cheese that looks good.
For everyone who didn't get a chance to read the book this is a great opportunity to catch up on the story.

Hope to see you there.
Kylle

My address:
2653 S. Wolff Way
One block east of Sheridan off of Yale. Feel free to park in the circle or lower driveway.

 

3 Responses to “6/23 – Book Club Movie Night”

  1. admin Says:

    So far…
    M – pizza bread (1/2), mozzarella
    Misc – Black Olives, Pineapples
    C – Onions, Ricotta

  2. M Says:

    Here is my “review” of the book, or below are the salient bullet points. In no particular order:
    First, I’m fascinated to no end by The Miscellanist’s report of a bazillion-page document on this book and its basis for the male homosexual “culture” today. Knowing that, the men in this book seem basically archetypes . . .or charicatures.
    Chapter 10 lays out very clearly Basil as the conscience, and Lord Henry sitting on the other shoulder with a pitchfork. Basil would have helped him to resist Lord Henry’s influence, and the still more poisonous influences that came from his own temperament. (sorry I couldn’t speak to this at book club last week — I hadn’t gotten this far yet!)
    in Chapter 11, I was so caught up in “the book” that I wrote in my book, “What book?!”
    It was also in Chapter 11 that I saw the similarities to the movie Groundhog Day, where the main character lives the same day over and over and over. Once he comes to terms with the freakiness of it, he takes piano lessons and learns another language, and does all kinds of things (to endear him to the female lead). Dorian focuses on perfumes, and then a paragraph later, on music. Then jewels, and then embroideries. Why not? He has all the time in the world to become an expert on anything he wants.
    The only other Wilde I’m familiar with is The Importance of Being Earnest, and even if I hadn’t known the author of either of these pieces, I’d have recognized the writing anywhere. This fascinates me. Here’s a Lord Henry quote that could just as easily have been Algernon: ‘Always!’ That is a dreadful word. It makes me shudder when I hear it. Women are so fond of using it. They spoil every romance by trying to make it last forever.
    Of course, Wilde’s (or Lord Henry’s?) attitude toward women is both humorous and sad.
    Sibyl’s mom could not have been a more perfect portrayal of everyone I’ve ever known who was involved in a high school drama team or community theatre. Spot on!
    This description of Lord Henry cracked me up, because it’s so similar to what my oldest brother says about airplanes. He says if you don’t miss a handful of planes every year, you’re spending too much time in airports. About Lord Henry: He was always late on pinciple, his principle being that punctuality is the thief of time.

  3. M Says:

    ugh! delete that comment, willya, K? I’ll just post the link to my journal entry. Evidently it only takes SOME HTML, and doesn’t “get” bullet points.

    Here’s my book and my notes: http://www.bookcrossing.com/journal/3858107/J_6500276


Leave a Reply

