Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Scones bring out the controversy – 9/23/06 September 19, 2006

Filed under: The Kite Runner — antof9 @ 12:08 am

Another great week of conversation, but sadly TKR comes to an end.

 – Can we imply our own definitions of redemption into a book?

 – Did Baba get redemption?

 – Was the ending satisfying?

Next week we are starting the Glass Bead Game by Hermann Hesse and are meeting at Common Grounds @ 10:30. Read through Chapter 3. http://www.google.com/maps?hl=en&lr=&q=common+grounds&near=Denver,+CO&radius=0.0&cid=39739167,-104984167,5735336650228745189&li=lmd&z=14&t=m

Also remember to send me your book suggestions along with a short synopsis of the book. You can email it or give it to me. thecoloradobookclub@hotmail.com

 

5 Responses to “Scones bring out the controversy – 9/23/06”

  1. Inspector Love Says:

    I just wanted to thank everyone for the great discussion on Saturday. Considering how dull the Glass Bead Game is so far, I’m still amazed by how much I got out of our conversations.

    I’ve read the faux introduction and it certainly made me understand the story better. I even found some parts funny! Another surprise. Hesse slams modern academia and mocks university scholars/professors. He also comments on celebrity culture and I think some of his comments are still valid today. I find myself fluctuating between disagreeing and agreeing with his analysis.

    I find Hesse’s emphasis on the integration of all disciplines in education through the bead game very interesting (again, I’m glad I read the introduction). Also, the idea of current education as a soulless endeavor and the need for a spiritual reverence stood out to me.

    Now, I hope I can get through the next couple chapters… I keep having to re-read parts because my mind wanders so much. I also have to catch up on reading for my Wilderness Trekking class- our next lecture is on map & compass… equally exciting.

    Peace out.

  2. the prof Says:

    yeah, orienteering is riveting. right on par with hesse. great summary though i can’t wait to start reading it.

  3. the prof Says:

    yeah, orienteering is riveting. right on par with hesse. great summary though i can’t wait to start reading it. and ditto on the good discussions this week.

  4. Inspector Love Says:

    The Glass Bead Game is actually getting easier to read… I wouldn’t say it’s left the “dull” category, but my eyes are not glazing over as often. I can’t believe you’re taking a class on Hesse- I don’t think I would survive it! I’m trying to keep in mind the question you raised on Saturday while I read… something along the lines of “If Hesse de-emphasizes the characters and the plot, then what can we gain from his writing style?” Is that right? Well, I haven’t found an answer, yet…

    I didn’t understand much of the orienteering chapter, but, lucky for me, everything became clear at the lecture last night and I was able to plot reference points for our hike on Sunday.

    See you Saturday.

  5. M Says:

    I can’t believe I missed these posts! I’m with Inspector Love, though, and find myself re-reading paragraphs all the time. I don’t like a book where your mind wanders.


Leave a Reply

