Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

A few things left to say…9/21/06 October 19, 2006

Filed under: Glass Bead Game — antof9 @ 3:05 am

Hope everyone is having a great week.
Last week…

 – Can you relate with Knecht’s rebellion?
 – Was Knecht’s rebellion, a) really rebellious, b) proved his point?
 – Was it for a world change or a personal change?
 – Was it a selfish decision?

We have a busy couple of weeks coming up so put this on your Palms or palms.
 – This week we are finishing up GBG; meeting at Mile Hi Coffee
http://denvercoffee.blogspot.com/2006/03/mile-high-coffee-englewood.html
 – I will be emailing you the list of possible books. We will be voting on them next week. Anyone who gave a suggestion must describe the plot and explain why they want to read it at our meeting on the 21st.
 – We will also be discussing our Halloween Party.
 – The temple trek will take place on the 28th and we will discuss details soon.

See you on Saturday

 

10 Responses to “A few things left to say…9/21/06”

  1. M Says:

    thanks for the info!

    Did I mention I have the copy of Donald Duck in Mathmagic Land in my posession now (all 27 minutes of it)?

    I’ll talk to C about maybe meeting at our house (and also hooking up the VCR so I can make sure the tape works) and/or maybe we want to show it at the party?

  2. prof Says:

    i’m always in for anything involving donald duck.

  3. Inspector Love Says:

    I may or may not be there tomorrow, so start without me.

  4. M Says:

    you might be the only person who finishes this! (discounting Joel who read it previously) How can you not be there?!

  5. M Says:

    you might be the only person who finished this! (discounting Joel who read it previously) How can you not be there?!

    M, stuck in 10

  6. Inspector Love Says:

    Well, I will try to make it… it may be my last book club. We’re going to freeze tomorrow! That’s IF we make it to the campground and don’t get shot by hunters.

    I “heart” unexpected snow storms in October.

  7. the prof Says:

    i miss the glass bead game. i think i’m having withdrawals.. has anyone else finished it?

  8. cobookclub Says:

    I finished it finally. Despite everything I…enjoyed isn’t the right word…hmmm…have to think about it.

  9. M Says:

    I’m not surprised that you miss it, Prof. Perhaps we can talk a little bit about it every week from now on.

    I finally finished it last night. I’m surprised I retained any of it. But I did. I don’t know the right word for how I feel about it either. . .

  10. the prof Says:

    wow, ambivalence seems to be the general concensus. maybe we’re numb from just surviving it. everything about gbg seems unique, even our response after finishing it.


Leave a Reply

