Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

The Great Stupa Trek November 4, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — antof9 @ 4:02 am

I felt like their should be a blog entry for the few brave souls who ventured to the Great Stupa.

Last Saturday a few members of the BBC took the show on the road and disguised ourselves as tourists in search of Colorado’s Shrine to the Buddha, known only as the Great Stupa (Joel wondered if there was a lesser stupa, but was ultimately left mystified). Things we learned/discussed along the way.

 – the differences between Buddhists and Mormons
 – the magnificent drama of small town life
 – the philosophy of parenting
 – hybrid cars are cooler than any other form of entertainment
 – is “the moon and antartica” the best modest mouse album to date
 – would you consider Herman Hesse a good Buddhist
 – why are there so many platforms scattered throughtout the woods surrounding the Stupa
 – are Buddhists bothered by tourists
 – ten foot silk flags are the most effective way to mark a trail

Thanks for all who participated in our trek for spiritual enligtenment, and here’s hoping that more road trips are in the offing.
 – Sam

 

6 Responses to “The Great Stupa Trek”

  1. Inspector Love Says:

    I thought the silence in the Stupa was sacred.

    I felt guilty because my puffy coat made so much noise. The architecture, especially inside, was captivating- I wouldn’t want a Great Stupa in my yard, but my eyes were definitely drawn to the ornate details. I especially liked the carved wood pillars, the granite tile work, and of course the gianormous Buddha himself. I also find it interesting that they used real fabric for his clothing.

  2. the prof Says:

    i too enjoyed the architecture, but wished there was an easier way to experience buddhism without being so obtrusive. i wasn’t worried about making noise, it’s just hard to observe someone’s religion without feeling like you are at a zoo and treating people like monkeys in a cage.

    it would also be interesting to find out how the whole thing got started. who was the guy/girl that starting walking through the woods and said, “if i put up a bunch of silk flags then we could make a trail to this awesome stupa i just found.”

  3. Inspector Love Says:

    You crack me up!

    Well, if they were accomplished Buddhists, they could meditate and not even notice anyone in the room. The goal is to clear the mind and not be influenced by internal or external distractions. The guy in the middle wasn’t as successful as the guy to the right of him. Anyway…

    I think it was uncomfortable because we were so close to them. When I traveled around Britain, I went into churches all the time to admire the architecture and have a look around. There were always people inside praying, but the churchs were so large, that I was able to stay out of their way.

    Yeah, it definitely made me curious about the people who decided to build a stupa in the middle of nowhere.

  4. Kylle Says:

    It might be a better test of thier fortitude if they built it in the middle of a big city, also more book clubs would visit because the drive is shorter.

  5. the professor Says:

    my professor told me that the Great Stupa was founded to house the remains of the founder of Neuropa, a buddhist university in boulder, co.

  6. Inspector Love Says:

    Naropa University

    Allen Ginsberg used to teach there.

    Yeah, when I was graduating from college, I thought that Naropa was the only university I would go to for graduate school. They used to have a degree in social activism. Now, I’m more open minded to graduate school and more cynical about social activism- go figure.

    I found out last night that one of my friends went to a retreat at the stupa. She said the big wooden platforms are used for tents during the summer.

    One mystery solved!


Leave a Reply

