Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

BBC Christmas Party December 13, 2006

Filed under: The Thirteenth Tale — antof9 @ 3:30 am

More “barely” than “book club”

This week we started the Thirteenth Tale, and it’s already interesting, even if we didn’t have a lot to talk about. Or maybe that’s just because there is a majority group at BBC, and they aren’t the ones who are reading the book!

We briefly hit on the author’s comments about reading, and a little bit of confusion about Vida’s letter to Margaret Lea. We also established the fact ther we’re pronouncing it “vee-duh”.

Other than that, there was a confusing game of Chinese Checkers, several rousing rounds of speed Scrabble, more movie discussions, and oh, this is another place to enjoy latte art.

For next week, we’ll meet at Kelly’s for discussion and party. If you’re on the Secret Santa gift exchange bring your (book) gift then. To avoid the stalking of Kelly an Evite will be sent with all the party information. As a matter of public record:
Joel is bringing cinnamon rolls
Kylle is making waffles
Ant will bring a fruit salad
Amie is bringing eggs
April is bringing juice
Kelly is cooking bacon, and has coffee and tea to spare

For the “book club” part of BBC, read the next 100 pages (to the chapter “Gone”). This will be the last book club for the year. Our next meeting will be January 6th.
 – Ant

PS (Sam and Joel) – If you don’t respond to the Evite I’m revoking your Secret Santa gift. Seriously guys for “geniuses” like yourselves I’m sure you can manage to respond to the Evite.

 

6 Responses to “BBC Christmas Party”

  1. M Says:

    I’m hee hee heeing at the p.s.!

    See you all Saturday!

  2. Inspector Love Says:

    I finally received my book… I’ve only read the first chapter, but I understood the letter a little differently. She “made a deal” with herself to tell the truth. I think the letter is a little arrogant- she just assumes Margaret will follow her orders and show up. I’m not sure I like the voice. By the way- is the author British or American trying to be British?

    P.S. M- I think now Samjo will purposely not respond to the evite just to spite you. 😉

  3. Kylle Says:

    They haven’t even opened the email yet!!! Seriously I can rain down fire 🙂

    Oh and IL I love that SamJo bit, I’m totally using that!!

  4. M Says:

    oh yeah. They are SO Samjo. That’s even better than RussLit.

    IL — good point on the author. I don’t know, but I’m tempted to answer “American trying to be British”, which is my least favorite kind. Do you hear me, Madonna and Johnny Depp?

  5. Inspector Love Says:

    It’s sad, isn’t it, Kylle?

    Exactically, M! (Don’t worry, I spelled it that way on purpose). As soon as I saw the dramatic photo on the book jacket, I suspected it was ATTBB. It’s so tragic- no matter what goofy pseudo- accent and British vocab they pick up, they just can’t erase their Americanism.

    I thought you two would get a kick out of Samjo… it was divine inspiration, I’m tellin’ ya. Do you think they’re bromantically involved? Hee-hee.

    Bromance ( noun, adj. [bromantic], adv. [bromantically] ): A non-sexual deep personal bond or very close friendship between men.

  6. Kylle Says:

    IL – You are amazing. The sad part is I know they aren’t reading this blog.

    I think we should incorporate the word bromance into every day life. It will be just like Never Been Kissed (the odd movie with Drew Barrymore) when the cool kids invented a word “Rufus” which meant totally cool.

    As for the author – my 2nd big qualm with the book is the tone. It’s a bit snobby in my opinion. As for my 1st…you will have to read the book.


Leave a Reply

