Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Merry Christmas! December 20, 2006

Filed under: The Thirteenth Tale — antof9 @ 4:54 am

First of all I would like to thank Kelly for letting us come over and make a mess of her lovely kitchen. I think everyone had a good time and it was very interesting to see what books were exchanged.

As was mentioned before we will not be meeting until January 6th and by then you need to have finished The Thirteenth Tale. Hopefully no one will go through withdrawal from being away from BBC (but I have to admit that it makes me sad to not be meeting up for 2 whole weeks!)

I truely hope that everyone has a great Christmas and New Years and that you find some time to read. Does anyone have books they plan on reading over the Holidays?

 

8 Responses to “Merry Christmas!”

  1. Inspector Love Says:

    Yes- definitely a big, “Thank you!” to Kelly. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, everyone!

    I’m still reading the Thirteenth Tale- you were right, Kylle, it gets better… However, I find the incest and violence disturbing.

    I actually checked out the Great Divorce and In Cold Blood, so I might start reading them. I know we discussed waiting to read the Great Divorce, but it’s a short book- we could probably finish it in one week. Having said that, I’m not as familiar with C.S. Lewis’ philosophical works, so I’m not sure whether or not it will be a difficult read.

    To be honest, I don’t know how much time I will have to read- I’m knitting a scarf for an orphan in college and it’s taking me longer than I thought…

  2. Shanda Says:

    Thanks Kelly!

    As I was organizing my books over the weekend (by color), I found quite a few things to read. But a friend sent me a Meg Cabot book & for better or worse, I promised her I’d read it!

    Merry Christmas!

  3. M Says:

    Thanks from me too! Great party and fun to see all the books we chose for each other 🙂

    I’ll be reading a bunch of books I can leave in my travels — nothing I have to bring back home with me. I’m a happy BookCrosser!

    Oh, and I finished 13th tale. I wasn’t quite as upset by the end as Kylle, but I wasn’t much impressed by it either. Of course, it did explain some things I’d been questioning.

    I still say it seems like a book written by someone inspired by V.C. Andrews.

    Here’s hoping Capote will be enjoyable!

  4. Kylle Says:

    I just finished Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister and I liked it better than Wicked! Over Christmas I want to read something else fluffy so I might hold off on Joel’s book (the title escapes but I think the word Priest is in it) until after New Years. I will need to scour my book shelves to find my Christmas read.

  5. Ant Says:

    Thanks for the ‘heads up’ on Ugly Stepsister. Maybe I’ll take that on my trip! Speaking of fluffy, I had to laugh that Shanda has a Meg Cabot on-hand. I do too 🙂

  6. Inspector Love Says:

    Okay, I’m still on the 13th Tale… is it just me or does the author have no sense of subtlety? We are never asked to figure things out- she just tells us. It makes it a bit boring. Also, I’ve gotten to the first part of Hester’s diary- nothing illuminating there- it just confirmed what Vida already said. Why put it in there?

    My last rant is about the ridiculousness of Margaret’s twin. I’m not saying a real person would’t feel a sense of loss over a twin she had never met, but something about the writing makes it false and overly constructed. The writing is mostly pretentious and overly dramatic, which just turns me off. I have to give her credit for some nice lyrical passages, but they are crowded out by the author’s other failings. I don’t see how this could be a best seller… unless it’s a best seller because it’s on the NY Times best seller list.

    Anyway… can’t wait to get it over with and move on to something else!

    P.S. The author is, in fact, British. I’m shocked.

  7. Kylle Says:

    I agree that it’s hard to believe that one would get so emotional over someone they have never met. Sure there would be a since of loss over her sister, but she was a baby and would have no memory of being conjoined.

    I also agree that the language of the novel is a bit over the top and not really believable.

    And my final gripe – this is a spoiler – is the whole triplet thing. I was okay with most of the story and then she just throws that in to explain everything. It’s almost like she had orginally written a different end and then someone told her it would be “totally awesome” if they were triplets and so she just threw that in.

    Other than those greivances the book would have been pretty good.

  8. Inspector Love Says:

    I agree, Kylle… I think it would have been worse if it was a ghost, though. I don’t think she could have pulled that off, either. In another writer’s hands, this might have been suspenseful. The author has potential, but I just don’t think she scored with this book.

    I finished “The Great Divorce.” It’s an easy read and I think it will only take a week to finish. I’m starting “In Cold Blood” and trying to intersperse it with something more positive than murder- a book on Buddhism.

    Well, if the blizzard doesn’t completely snow me in, I’ll head to Wyoming on Saturday to see my sister. She landed a job as a graphic designer for a newspaper in Oregon. Pretty cool since she just took a quick trip to see if she really wanted to move there. Now, THAT’S divine intervention. 😉

    Peace out.


Leave a Reply

