Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Changes may be occuring February 1, 2007

Filed under: The Great Divorce — antof9 @ 4:37 am

To get the business portion out of the way… We are meeting at Aviano’s and finishing up the Great Divorce. http://avianocoffee.blogspot.com/

There was some discussion as to the format of book club. One suggestion was to take a week off after every book. Another was to use the week off as a Friday movie night (therefore leaving Saturday as a sleep in day.) There was also some discussion to possibly moving book club to another night. These are all some interesting suggestions and I encourage to post your thoughts.

Don’t forget to put any new book suggestions in the Book Suggestion Post. Remember that all books left over from the last vote will be put on the new ballot so you don’t have to re-suggest them.

Thanks!

 

4 Responses to “Changes may be occuring”

  1. Inspector Love Says:

    Well, if you change the meetings to a weeknight/day, I will have to drop out of book club.

    About the format… hmm… this is the only book club I know that meets every week. There’s nothing wrong with that, it’s just different. I like the idea of a movie night and/or field trip after reading a book. However, I don’t know how much my opinion counts since I may be leaving BBC anyway (regardless of the schedule).

    The past few weeks have been uninspiring, but sometimes that happens with certain books and often you don’t know the book’s a BC dud until you read it.

    By the way, despite Shanda’s desparaging remarks about it, I’m enjoying Extremely Close and Incredibly Loud. I’m not sure how much conversation it will generate, but I think I’m going to have to re-read it to mark some of the passages I like.

    I’m not sure if I’m going to make it this weekend- I might go skiing Saturday. Just in case, I want to share this passage from a book on Buddhism I read at the same time as the Great Divorce.

    “The Buddha cannot, and would not, force you to walk the way of truth and liberation. The Buddha cannot, and would not, force you to walk the path of compassion and self-purification. The Buddha cannot, and would not, force you to follow the liberating heart-opening lessons of the Dharma. Buddhism teaches that no one else controls your destiny. It’s all in your hands.”

    This reminded me of the spirits in GD who could not leave their worldly attachments behind in order to enter heaven.

    I could say more, but I don’t know what you discussed last week. Besides, this post is a bit long anyway.

  2. Kylle Says:

    I’m personally not a fan of the mid-week format and the thought of a break makes me nervous. But in the spirit of making things interesting I will go along happily.

    And Inspector, are we at liberty to ask why you may be leaving book club?

  3. Inspector Love Says:

    Yeah, but I don’t want to write it on the blog. I’ll e-mail you later, Kylle.

    I’m going skiing tomorrow, so I won’t be there tomorrow.

  4. shanda Says:

    Wait, what desparaging remarks? I’ve been looking forward to reading this book in BC for a while (I”ve read it before). It does bear some striking similarities to his first book, but that’s my only significant complaint.


Leave a Reply

