Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

A Little Culture March 13, 2007

Filed under: Kafka on the Shore — antof9 @ 11:59 pm

On to the next book from one of Japan’s most unconventional writers. Murakami is often coined in Japan as a “pop” writer. But I doubt he is equivalent to American “pop” writers.

Let’s try out a new coffee place this week. Ink! on the Riverfront. Read to page 104 or Chapter 12.

www.inkcoffee.com

 

8 Responses to “A Little Culture”

  1. Ant Says:

    How clueless am I? I never even saw this book on the list! How funny. Anyway, I have my copy and Joel’s, if he wants it, and/or anyone reading this blog sees him. I sent him an email, but I don’t think he checks those either.

  2. Inspector Love Says:

    Um… I’m about 60 pages in and it’s definitely an, uh, interesting read. I may be going skiing Saturday, so I may miss you all this week.

  3. Ant Says:

    Someone else told me their book club just finished this, and she promised “lively” discussions. I said that was just what we wanted!

    We’ll miss you if you’re gone, IL 🙂

  4. Ant Says:

    I just have to say …

    THIS IS A VERY WEIRD BOOK

    There, I said it.

    That mouse-on-the-shoulder thing (or whatever it was) in “Great Divorce” was nothing compared to this.

  5. shanda Says:

    Now I don’t know what to do. I have the book but I haven’t started the book yet. Should I read it? What if I’m not weird enough to appreciate it? Ant & IL, what’s your advice?

  6. Inspector Love Says:

    Well, it depends on your philosophy and I’m not going to tell you what to do. Is your aim to only read things you think/know you’ll like? Or do you want to challenge yourself with something you may not like. I wouldn’t say I liked or enjoyed the Glass Bead Game, but I’m glad I read it and had the discussions with BBC (still some of my favorite conversations so far).

    My philosophy is this- I will read anything the group votes for even if I don’t think I’ll like it (case in point 13th Tale). Who knows, maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised. We can learn just as much from what we dislike as what we like.

    I don’t relate to your “weird” comment- I think you can appreciate a weird book without being weird yourself. And I have to say I warned everyone that the author is unusual, but if we continue to pick books that everyone will like or with nothing to talk about, then we will continue to have boring meetings (i.e. I liked In Cold Blood, but there’s not much to say about it).

    As for this author, I don’t remember his last book being as detailed about certain body functions (I could care less about how Kafka washes himself), but as I started reading this one, I remembered the author does write about sexual experiences. If you can get over that, then there are some well-written passages and an unusual storyline. I’m guessing this book is unlike anything you’ve read before, which is reason enough for me to read it and you have to decide for yourself if that’s enough reason for you to read it.

  7. Antof9 Says:

    Yup — it’s *very* interesting. And the more you get into it, the harder it is to put it down.

    Here’s a quick recap of this morning’s BBC:

    $14.00 jug of “special” orange juice
    no parking
    St. Patrick’s Day
    quilted shorts
    many story lines most likely interwoven
    Read through 1/2 for next week
    Meet at Stella’s

  8. Antof9 Says:

    I forgot to say that I asked a friend who is fluent in Japanese (lived there, and has two Japanese degrees) if she has read this, and if so, what language she read it in.

    “English. He’s too hard to read in Japanese!”


Leave a Reply

