Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Welcome to Spring March 22, 2007

Filed under: Kafka on the Shore — antof9 @ 9:32 pm

Sorry! Busy week.

Read through chapter25 or page 253. We are meeting at Stella’s at 10:30. I’ll try to get there early and grab some tables in the backish room, or is it frontish? The back of the front…the right hand side facing east…the south side. Whew that coffee house is confusing.

http://denvercoffee.blogspot.com/2005/09/stellas-coffeehaus-old-pearl-street.html

 

7 Responses to “Welcome to Spring”

  1. Inspector Love Says:

    I will probably be skiing again…

    However, I have a discussion point for the group (maybe for the end of the book):

    Haruki writes about Kafka’s bodily habits in explicit detail. What is the purpose of this and how does it function in the story as a whole?

    I think this detail can be perceived as superfluous (and uncomfortable to read), but I think there may be a method to the madness.

    I also have a comment about the BC format, I think some books should be read as a whole before discussing them. KOTS is probably one of them… after I read to Chapter 12, I realized we probably wouldn’t have much to say about the book at that point (you can tell me whether or not that was true), except that it’s a “weird” book. I don’t know how this would fit in to the format, but after reflecting back on my BC experiences, I think there’s a reason why people only meet after they’ve read the whole book:

    1. Some books don’t inspire discussion. If the book’s a dud, you’ve only had one meeting to spend on it rather than dragging it out for 3 weeks.

    2. For many books, it’s difficult to discuss a book without reading the whole thing.

    What about becoming “More than a Book Club”. It’s clear many people come to BBC for social reasons and there’s nothing wrong with that, but if everyone wants to keep the weekly format, why not make room for other activities. For example, we can see indie movies and discuss them like we would a book. Or we could play games. I mean most of the time these things happen anyway, but why not make it more inclusive. Just a thought…

  2. Ant Says:

    I’ve been wondering about the bodily habits descriptions, too. Is it possible because it’s another example of a grownup author trying to write from a young boy’s perspective (same song, different interpretation than EL&IC)?

    I’ll miss the discussion this week — I can’t come tomorrow. Which is a bummer, because I even limited myself to this week’s reading *only* and put the book down when I got to where we were supposed to be. I can’t be held responsible for finishing this in the next week 🙂

  3. Inspector Love Says:

    Change in plans… I will be there tomorrow. Not that anyone reads this blog. 🙂

  4. the prof Says:

    hey – there are some people still reading this blog.. and yes, i understand why most book clubs meet only once a week, however, since the inception of ‘barely’ we have always felt that the focus on books was only secondary to the chance to enjoy a cup of coffee and chat about our lives, lack thereof, or anything else like movies, etc.

    the book sounds interesting i’ll try to start tonight, just finished a bunch of reading from spring break, so i’m a little behind.

  5. IL Says:

    Umm… can we have an extra week to finish the book? I don’t think I can finish it by this Saturday and it looked like we were all behind last week.

    I joined BBC for social reasons, so I don’t have a problem with the weekly format (if it bothers me, I can always choose not to go). However, the format was a topic of discussion awhile back… I guess that conversation didn’t really get very far and I responded a bit late. I think I’m getting a bit restless… cabin fever or something.

    See you Saturday.

  6. Kylle Says:

    I don’t mind if we spend another week. How about everyone else?

    It’s never too late to talk about changing the format. Anyone else can weigh in at anytime.

  7. shanda Says:

    I too would gladly welcome another week to finish. I also won’t be there this Saturday.


Leave a Reply

