Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Pick a Flick June 18, 2007

Filed under: Movie Night — antof9 @ 9:25 pm

Hope everyone is having a great summer (technically summer isn’t until Thursday but I’m taking liberties since no one will read this until later in the week anyway.) I have to tell you that I’m very excited about Blink and I think it will make for some great conversations. Even if you don’t read the book I think you will be able to join in.

I’m volunteering my place for movie night this Friday at 7:00, but I don’t have a movie suggestion. Seeing that the latest Beowulf/Grendel remake was completely heinous let’s avoid it. I’m up for anything…except the Saw movies.
(If you need directions to my house, please email me.)

Lastly, it’s that time of year to start thinking about new books. I’m attaching the newest list. It contains all the books that received votes last time (PS I bought Confederacy of Dunces at a yard sale so I’m going to vote for it), and all the comments from the Book Suggestion post. If I have missed a suggestion please let me know. I’m excited about many of the choices!!
bbc-book-choices-2007-part-2.doc

Thanks,

Kylle

 

11 Responses to “Pick a Flick”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I have my 3 Netflix that I haven’t watched yet, if anyone is interested I can hold off until Friday. They are (oh make that 4):

    Click
    Because I Said So
    Music and Lyrics
    Blood Diamond

    Let me know if any of you are interested in any of these.

  2. Mr. Barrieau Says:

    I suggest Point Break, Pan’s Labrynth (or El Laberinto del fauno for all you Spanish types), and Saw, (the entire ‘Thrill-ogy’). Just to overrule Kylle.
    On a serious note, have we thought about going to see a movie in the theaters? there are so many great movies out now, especially this coming Friday I believe.

  3. Inspector Love Says:

    I vote Pan’s Labyrinth or go see a movie.

  4. mir Says:

    blood diamond is a great movie… by the way kylle- i like the new background!

  5. Kylle Says:

    Let’s go see a movie. I suggest
    1408
    A Might Heart
    Mr. Brooks.

    IL – We have Pan’s Labyrinth if you haven’t seen it and want to borrow it.

    Kelly – If you end up watching Music and Lyrics tell me if it’s a good movie.

  6. Inspector Love Says:

    I just saw the trailer for 1408 and it actually looks good. I haven’t seen a horror movie in a long time. Anyway, I love John Cusack and Samuel L. Jackson. My only hesitation is that it takes place in a hotel room… do I risk becoming afraid of hotel rooms?

    I would actually see any of those three. I’m not sure that I can make it- it all depends on if I get back from Breckenridge in time.

    By the way, I’ve spent the last two weekends getting out the vote for our special election to stop the Wal-Mart. The election was today and for those of you who told me we couldn’t stop Wal-Mart…

    Well, we won by over 2,000 votes.

  7. Kylle Says:

    That’s great IL!! You know I would have signed your petition if I lived in the area.

    I’m excited about 1408. It’s the perfect movie for me and Matt because he loves horror and I love John Cusack. And as far as hotel-a-phobia goes, I think as long as it’s not been proved to be haunted you are okay. But I’m okay with any movie.

    I think our attendance will be low…so what theater is convenient for you?

    Mir – Shanda said you were interested in going…any opinions?

  8. Inspector Love Says:

    I might be home earlier than I thought on Friday, but I have to go to REI. I can go to the one on Wadsworth, then head over to Lakewood if you want to go to a theater out your way. I’m flexible, but I don’t want to see a real late movie because I have a busy day on Saturday.

  9. Kylle Says:

    There is a 7:30 showing of 1408 at Belmar? And a Might Heart at 7:25. Would that work for you?

  10. Inspector Love Says:

    Perfect. I actually had to come home today, so it makes things a little easier. I want to see both movies, so either one is fine with me. I’ll meet you at Belmar around 7:20. Let me know if you don’t have my cell # and I’ll e-mail it to you.

  11. Antof9 Says:

    We’ll be landing about the time you guys are watching your scary horror flick. Can’t say I’m sorry 🙂

    Music & Lyrics is totally fabulous. The background for the opening credits is a hilariously cheesy 80s music video. I loved it.

    Have fun!


Leave a Reply

