Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Watch the Day January 15, 2008

Filed under: Day Watch — antof9 @ 11:29 am

I have some news that might be disagreeable to some. There are 4 books in the series, the 4th is called Last Watch and it isn’t out until July. You can pre-order today at Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/WATCH-Night-Watch-Sergei-Lukyanenko/dp/1401309275/ref=pd_bbs_sr_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1200414163&sr=8-5

I knew I wasn’t crazy.

Last week we talked about:
– The poor quality of this translation even though it was translated by the same guy!
– Pitting “Light” againist “Dark” and how they both justified their actions to fit their outcomes. The “Light” still does manipulative things but in the name of good.
– Do we feel as connected to these characters as the ones in Night Watch?
– Should Ant get one egg instead of three and then ask for that egg to be scrambled hard?

Those that came last week decided to meet every week for this book. Also we are reading the book by the stories so by next week be done with the 2nd story (page 302). Let’s meet at the House of Commons.

http://www.houseofcommonstea.com/

 

10 Responses to “Watch the Day”

  1. Antof9 Says:

    For the record, Ant ordered one egg, scrambled but got three. Maybe I looked protein-deficient.

    Sam and Misty — next time let us know if you’re *really* coming so we don’t reserve a big table at a busy and shi-shi place.

    Don’t get mad at me for jumping on the meet every week bandwagon and then blowing you guys off this week, but I found a $130 ticket to go see my sister! I’ll miss you guys, but keep current on the reading.

    Can’t buh-LIEVE there is ANOTHER book!

  2. Inspector Luv Says:

    To put the “barely” back in BBC, we also discussed whether or not to see Juno. I’ve seen it twice in the theater… probably the first time I’ve ever done that. Juno, the main character, may be superficially irreverent about her (teen) pregnancy, but the movie is not.

    Although I’ve been conflicted about Day Watch, I overall enjoyed it. Part 3 is very interesting… Biblical you might say… we discover something that might be obvious, but not blatantly discussed until this part, which will bring me to a question I thought about this week…

    We also discussed the Golden Compass at Le Central. This book/movie has gotten a lot of press because the author is a vocal atheist. As Ant pointed out, the author wanted to write, “the atheist’s response to the Narnia books.” I’m paraphrasing here… I still argue that the Golden Compass did not strike me as promoting atheism, although this could change as I read the rest of the series. I noticed criticism of organized religion/ a religion resembling Catholicism (because it mentioned the Pope), but that is hardly the same as promoting the idea that God does not exist. The words “Jesus” and “Christianity” don’t even appear in the book at all. And I have to admit, the only aspect of the Narnia books that I see as being influenced by Christianity is Aslan’s character.

    So, would people in the BBC not read a book because the author is an atheist? Would you read a book knowing that it might subtly hint at Atheism, have atheist characters, bring up atheism? We don’t have to discuss this on the blog, but I’m very curious about this and I will probably forget to ask Sat.

  3. sam Says:

    I apologize ant, I really wanted to come, but (as i’ve already stated) the starter on my truck went out and joel, my usual back up ride was out of town.

    I’ve been a big fan of pullman’s golden compass series for several years. (and haven’t seen the movie yet) it could be argued that the premise (in the end) promotes a certain brand of anti-religious thought, but i think that even pullman might feel that this is ultimately missing the point. while i haven’t read them in over a year, i still feel that he was ultimately arguing (in much the same way as day watch) that the words evil and good are just words.

    I always thought that pullman’s utter hatred of c.s. lewis as a motivator to write this series is one of the greatest underrated comedic events of our generations. it’s almost as if pullman said, “I hate that hack so much i’m going to write a story.”

    his essays criticizing cs lewis are quite humorous.

  4. Kylle Says:

    I don’t care what the religion of an author is. It’s not like reading any book will magical change you into an atheist, or christian or elf. The purpose of reading is to expand you mind make you think about your personal beliefs about life, religion everything. I’ve really never gotten the impression from anyone that some books are taboo.

  5. Kylle Says:

    Oh yeah…Misc and I are going to the Stock Show on Saturday so we won’t be there.

  6. Shanda Says:

    I hate that I missed such an interesting discussion.

    I’m much more interested in the quality of writing than the background of the author. I think it’s worth knowing going in what sort of angle the author might be coming from just to have a little perspective on his motivation & how it plays into the book.

    For me (and probably most people), I don’t have a ton of intimate connections with people whose values are diametrically opposed to mine. The chance to connect with those ideas and motivation through reading is why I love literature so much.

  7. Kelly Says:

    I’m not sure if I will be there on Saturday. I really want to come, especially for the scones, but I am about a story behind and I don’t want the discussions to ruin it for me. I’m not even through Part 1 yet, so it will just depend on how far I can get in the next two days.

  8. Inspector Luv Says:

    It looks like no one is going Saturday, so maybe we should cancel.

    sam- I think you’ll be disappointed in the movie. I agree that Pullman’s hatred of C.S. Lewis is comedic. It’s an interesting motivating factor to write a series of YA novels.

    Kylle- I wish I knew some practicing elves. 😉 I agree with what you said about the purpose of reading. Also, I wasn’t implying that members of the BBC had taboos on books. Since most of you are Christian, and I’m usually surrounded by UUs, Jews, humanists, or atheists, I was just curious what your thoughts were on reading books that are written by atheists, contain atheist ideas, etc. I had no intention of insulting any one.

    Shanda- I really like your post. I think people tend to surround themselves with people whose values and beliefs are similar to their own because it’s comfortable and safe. I think you learn more about what you truly believe when you’re exposed to ideas that are different than your own. I’m one of the few people who do have intimate connections with people whose beliefs are extremely different to mine, but more through chance than intention. I would say it’s enriched my life.

  9. sam Says:

    i almost forgot to mention that i managed to see juno last week, and would watch it again in a heartbeat – it’s easily the best movie of the year, and like “stranger than fiction” won’t be recognized as anything more than a feel good story about a movie that got more distrubition than expected.

  10. Shanda Says:

    I liked Juno too…and blogged about it:)

    Hopefully the Oscar nominations will seal a better fate for it.


Leave a Reply

