Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

UTBoH – Part 3 February 21, 2008

Filed under: Under the Banner of Heaven — antof9 @ 11:12 am

I’m very excited about discussing this book. I think is the first time in our history where we have cancelled to meetings in a row!
I think technically we are supposed to read up to Chapter 20, but it seems like most people have finished the book already. Maybe we can wrap it up this week and then do movie night the following week.

Let’s meet at Stella’s. See you there.

http://www.stellascoffeehaus.com

 

5 Responses to “UTBoH – Part 3”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I finally finished Day Watch and have started I am Legend. My guess is that most of you wouldn’t be interested in reading it, but it could lead to some interesting discussions on the down fall of society in the book Blindness vs. his will to survive and the routine he goes through everyday to sustain his own life. Maybe the difference is the individual vs. the masses. Anyway I’ll be working all weekend, so I won’t be there on Saturday. Oh and just so you know I definitely like the idea of each person picking a book. I think the voting process is failing because we have too many choices and too few voters.

  2. Inspector Luv Says:

    If we change the process of selecting books, then I only have one caveat. I think if a person chooses a book for all of us to read, then they need to actually read it and show up to a least one or two of the discussions. IMHO, it’s not fair to choose a book for the group and then not participate.

  3. Antof9 Says:

    Thanks for your notes on I am Legend, Kelly. I know the movie is only very loosely based on the book (and it’s a remake!), and had been waffling on reading it (seriously loved Will Smith in it, though).

    I actually like the process we’ve been using to pick books. I told Kylle I blame myself for not seriously reading the descriptions and voting last time!

    See you at Stella’s!

  4. Antof9 Says:

    FYI — I think Stella’s may have let their web page die 🙂

    1476 S Pearl St
    Denver, CO 80210
    (303) 777-1031

  5. Kelly Says:

    I’m not opposed to the voting system, but it never comes out to my liking. I was really excited about quite a few of the books on the last list of choices. I didn’t even vote for my own suggestion and I still had a hard time limiting my vote. But only one that I wanted to read made the list. SO I’m just taking some time for my personal reading.


Leave a Reply

