Barely a Book Club

Teetering on the edge of a normal book club

Middlesex: Book 1 of 2009 January 20, 2009

Filed under: 1,Books read in 2009 — antof9 @ 11:06 am
Tags:

OK — hopefully we’ve all gotten a chance to actually buy or check out the book, so let’s make it official and assign an amount to be read by this Saturday’s meeting. The author has obligingly divided the book into sections, so let’s read through “Book One”, which ends at page 76 if you have the trade paperback edition.

Let’s meet at House of Commons again, unless someone really wants to meet elsewhere. I’m happy to give them our business if everyone else is 🙂

We’ll meet at our normal 10:30 unless the Inspector is volunteering. Then we’ll meet at 10:00 (but don’t come early, because the tea shop doesn’t open until 10!). Inspector, please let us know in the comments.

 

11 Responses to “Middlesex: Book 1 of 2009”

  1. shanda Says:

    I’m going to be out of town & sadly will have to miss this week:(

  2. Inspector Love Says:

    Looks like it’s you & me Ant of 9… I’ll be there at 10:30 since I don’t have to volunteer.

  3. Antof9 Says:

    We’ll miss the sisters and enjoy some scones in their honor.

    Here’s another book to consider for our list: “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”? It’s one I’ve never read, and I was just looking at the title. It occurs to me it might be a good book club book unless everyone else has read it and has no interest 🙂

  4. shanda Says:

    I’m really liking this book. The only good thing about this weekend was that I got a lot of reading done.

  5. Antof9 Says:

    I’m enjoying it too, but it’s a little odd.

    Anyone have a suggestion for a meeting place this week? (January 31)

    Read through Book 2 for this weekend.

  6. Inspector Love Says:

    I might not make it this week…

  7. antof9 Says:

    oh no!

    Are the sisters back in town?

  8. Kylle Says:

    The sisters are back, but this one is tired and won’t be there on Saturday.

  9. Inspector Love Says:

    Yeah, looks like I’m out this week. Sorry, Antof9. One thing that kind of bothers me about the plot- why did his grandparents have to be brother and sister? First cousins work just as well as far as passing down the gene. Just because it’s shocking? I’m hoping this will be illuminated as the book continues… I’m still lukewarm about the whole thing… the story is interesting, but I think the writing is kind of boring.

    See you soon!

  10. shanda Says:

    I’ll be there:)

  11. Antof9 Says:

    Inspector, I feel exactly the same way! It’s such an interesting (for the most part) book otherwise — the immigration, the history, the silkworms … I don’t understand the incest at all, nor how it contributes to the story. Guess we’ll have to keep reading!


Leave a Reply

